Sunday, 2 September 2018

Longformacus


Longformacus is a small village in the Scottish Borders. It is located about 6 miles from market town Duns in the Lammermuir Hills. The Dye Water runs through the village on its way to join the Whiteadder Water near Abbey St BathansThe Watch Water Reservoir is about 2.5 miles away and is a pleasant walk along Southern Upland Way (Longformacus to The Watch Water Reservoir Walk). Longformacus is a peaceful village set in the picturesque Lammermuir Hills. It is the ideal place to stroll by the river or join the hikers on the Southern Upland Way.

It is thought that the village name Longformacus is derived from the Gaelic "Longphort Mhacals" meaning Maccca's camp. The village dates back to at least the 13th century when an old church was built. However, there are traces of ancient fortifications not far away. At one time there was some copper ore in the area. A former minister tried to smelt it but production was unsuccessful.







Dye Water
Longformacus Church
Longformacus Parish Church is situated just south of the river and is approached via a curving drive. This lovely church, built on the four nations of a much older church sits peacefully near to the river. The original village church was dedicated by Bishop David de Benham in 1243, but by 1667 it had been allowed to fall into disrepair. The old church was described as almost ruinous and in 1730 it was rebuilt on the old foundations. In 1895 thorough renovations were made, including the addition of magnificent stained glass windows. Although this lovely church is no longer in use its is a beautiful place to visit and to wander through the peaceful churchyard. 


Longformacus Church
Longformacus Church




No comments:

Post a comment