Thursday, 13 September 2018

Bamburgh

Bamburgh
Bamburgh is a small picturesque village on the North Northumberland coast. It is a about 5 miles from the A1 on the B1432 and a few miles north of Seahouses. The village is overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle and is very popular with tourists. The village contains numerous gift shops and places to eat and is a lovely place to spend a relaxing afternoon. In the peaceful churchyard of St Aidan's church is the tomb of Grace Darling and directly opposite is the Grace Darling Museum.

Bamburgh Beach is a beautiful, wild sandy beach overlooked by the towering castle. the beach, backed by sand dunes has stunning views to Holy island and the Farne Islands. It is worth taking a walk to the stag rocks and the lighthouse.

There is evidence to suggest that the area around Bamburgh was occupied as far back as the Messolithic era. In pre Anglo-Saxon times Bamburgh was called Din Guarie and was the tribal stronghold of an ancient Iron Age tribe known as Votadini. During the Roman occupation the tribe befriended and traded with the Romans. 

In 547AD the royal city and capital of Bernica was established at Bamburgh by King Ida, an invading Angle chief. In 603AD King Elthefrith, King Ida's grandson seized control of the neighbouring Angle Kingdom in Yorkshire known as Deira, resulting in the formation of Northumbria. It is thought that the name Bamburgh originates from this period when Ethelfrith named the "burgh" (fortress) after his wife Queen Bebba. Bebba's Burgh eventually became simplied to Bamburgh. 

In medieval times a village developed around the foot of the castle and a Dominican Friary dating from 1256 was established in the village. In the 18th century Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham took ownership of the castle and began the process of restoration. After his death the Lord Crewe Trust rebuilt a lot of the village establishing a school, dispensary, hospital, coastguard service and welfare centre for shipwrecked mariners. 







Inner Farne Island

Holy Island







Bamburgh Castle
Bamburgh Castle is a magnificent ancient fortress overlooking A glorious sandy beach. Situated on the top of a rocky outcrop the castle has wonderful views to Holy Island and the Farne Islands.

Bamburgh Castle was built by the Normans in the late 11th century to replace a Celtic Brittonnic Fort known as Din Guarie, which was destroyed by the Vikings. By 1164 the keep had been built and the castle was complete. The Forster family were governors of the castle until 1700  when Lord Crew and his son John took over. In 1894 the castle was purchased by William Armstrong, a Victorian Industrialist. The castle is still owned by the Armstrong family who remain in residence. 


Bamburgh Castle

Bamburgh Castle

St Aidan's Church
St Aidan's Church was built in the 12th century, replacing the original wooden church founded by St Aidan in 635AD. the chancel was added in 1230 and is thought to be the second longest in the country. After the Dissolution of Monasteries in the 1500's and the departure of the monks the church became neglected and by 1600 was in a poor condition. The church was eventually repaired and restored over the following centuries and now sits proudly overlooking the sea. the In the peaceful churchyard of this picturesque church is the tomb of Grace Darling.


St Aidan's Church

View From The Church

Tomb Of Grace Darling

No comments:

Post a comment