Ford is a small picturesque village in North Northumberland a mile and a half from the equally quaint village of Etal and just over 11 miles from Berwick-Upon-Tweed. Located at the top of a hill Ford offers breathtaking views across the countryside to the Cheviot Hills.
It is thought that Ford derives its name from the shallow crossing( Ford) over the River Till near the village. A crossing place for monks and nuns travelling between the monasteries at Iona and Lindisarne.
Ford Castle was built in 1287 to protect the village from invasion by the Scots and was home to the Heron family, who held the Manor of Ford. In 1513 prior to the Battle of Flodden James IV made his base at the castle. The castle was rebuilt in the 1760's and during the second world war it was used as a convalescent hospital. It is now used as an educational camp and is not open to the public.
St Michael and All Angels Church
The church dates from the 13th century and has always been closely associated with Ford Castle and its owners. This solid and impressive church is in a magnificent setting with stunning views across Flodden Hill to the Cheviots.
|St Michaels and All Angels Church|
|View from the church|
The village has a primary school, village shop and a tearoom, in addition to the many attractions on the Ford and Etal estate. A village not to be missed.