Saturday, 18 July 2020

Lewes

Lewes

The historic market town of Lewes in East Sussex is situated in a river valley in the South Downs not far from the the city of Brighton. Lewes is steeped in history from Lewes Priory  to the 15th century Anne of Cleeves House and Lewes Castle. It is the perfect place to step back in time and the ideal place to explore the surrounding countryside and the local area. 

History
The original dwellers in the area near Lewes were from prehistoric times. Roman artefacts discovered in the area suggest that this was where the Roman settlement of Mutuantonis was. The Saxons built a castle and gave the town its name. 

Following the Norman Conquest William the Conqueror rewarded William de Warenne, 1st Earl of Surrey a swathe of and along the River Ouse which included the town of Lewes. William built a castle on the Saxon site and founded the Priory of St Pancras. In 1264 the town was the site of the Battle of Lewes when forces of Henry III and Simon de Montfort fought in the second Barons War.


During the 17th and 18th centuries the town flourished with an active port and shipbuilding plus a brewing industry and became the county town of Sussex.
 


View From The Castle




Lewes Castle



Town Centre




Lewes Priory

Lewes Castle
Lewes Castle stands on a man-made mount just north of the high street was originally called Bray Castle. The Castle was built in 1069 William de Warenne, 1st Earl of Surrey who  was given land by William the Conqueror which included Lewes. 

After the 15th century the castle declined in importance and was used as a warehouse for wool. It eventually fell into ruin and in the 17th century stone was removed. Since 1850 the castle has been first leased and then owned by the Sussex Archeological Society.








Lewes Priory
Lewes Priory is situated in the county town of Lewes in East Sussex. The priory was founded  between 1078 and 1082 by William de Warenne and his wife Gundrada. The priory, dedicated to St Pancras was built on the site of a Saxon church, also dedicated to St Pancras. 

In 1537 the monastery was dissolved and demolished. Only a small portion remains today.







Anne of Cleeves House
Anne of Cleeves House is a 15th century timber-framed Wealden hall house. Although she never visited the propertythis historic, atmospheric house was part of Anne of Cleeve's annulment settlement from King Henry VIII. The house is owned by the Sussex Archeological Society and operates as a museum.







https://www.visitsoutheastengland.com/places-to-visit/lewes-p196231



No comments:

Post a comment