Fairlight is a small village in East Sussex situated between Hastings and Rye. The "Firehills" form part of Hastings Country Park with wooded countryside, magnificent clifftop walks, picturesque glens and coves and stunning sea views. Fairlight is the ideal place to visit the park with free parking, picnic area and a tearoom. St Andrew's Church tower is open to the public in the summer.
In 1220 the village was mentioned in records as Farlegh. Over the years the spelling changed many times until eventually in 1823 the village became known as Fairlight. Fairlight Manor, which is now Stonelynk Farm was given to a French Countess by William the Conqueror. Stream House was originally three cottages known as stream houses and was used by smugglers to move contraband goods inland via a tunnel from the coast.
St Andrew's Church
This attractive church was built in 1845, replacing and earlier church. It has an 82ft tower and beacon turret which can be seen from some distance and is a landmark for shipping.