The castle was built in 1385 by Sir Edward Dalyngrigge, once a knight of Edward III to defend the area by a possible invasion by the French during the Hundred Years Wars. Sir Edward also used the castle as his family home with inner courts, chambers and toilets. The castle remained in the Dalygrigge family and by marriage the Lewknor family until the 16th century. In 1641, at the start of the English Civil War the castle was sold by Lord Thanet, a descendant of the Lewknor family to pay for fines that were brought against him by the Parliament.
The castle was dismantled and left in ruin until 1829 when it was purchased by John Fuller. John and the two subsequent owners, George Cubitt and Lord Curzon restored the castle reflecting its former glory. In 1925 the castle was donated to the National Trust by Lord Curzon and opened to the public.
This magnificent castle and grounds is a wonderful place to visit immersing yourself in the history and beauty of this wonderful place.
|Bodiam Castle from the River|