Saturday, March 16, 2019

Battle Abbey

Battle Abbey Gatehouse
The remains of Battle Abbey are situated in the market town of Battle in East Sussex. Battle Abbey was built in 1070 on the spot where the Battle of Hastings took place in 1066. The abbey was built by William the Conqueror who dedicated it to St Martin. It was eventually completed by his son, William (Rufus) about 1094.

Despite being remodelled in the late 13th century the abbey was virtually destroyed during the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1538. Henry VIII displaced the monks and gave the abbey and much of its land to Sir Anthony Browne who demolished the church and parts of the cloister, turning the abbot's quarter into a country house. In 1721 it was sold to Sir Thomas Webster and remained in the family until 1976 when it was sold to the British government.

Unfortunately all that remains today is the outline of the church on the ground and some of the 13th to 16th century buildings which are part of a present day school. The abbey and battlefield are a popular tourist attraction and a fascinating place to visit. 


https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/1066-battle-of-hastings-abbey-and-battlefield/history-and-stories/history/

https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/1066-battle-of-hastings-abbey-and-battlefield/

https://www.britainexpress.com/counties/eastsussex/abbeys/battle.htm

https://www.visit1066country.com/explore-1066-country/battle/battle-abbey-history



No comments:

Post a Comment